The American Harp Society Foundation 
2022 Competitions

The American Harp Society Foundation is pleased to announce the repertoire for the Grandjany Memorial Competition to be held in 2022 (location and date to be announced). We thank the large and diverse AHSF Repertoire Committee of nationally renowned harp professors for collaborating to create this list. This collaboration is made possible with the help from former Adams winner, Marguerite Lynn Williams, currently harp professor at the Chicago College of Performing Arts and principal harpist of the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

The Grandjany Memorial Competition will have one winner, who receives an award (amount to be determined). This competition was established in 1979 by the American Harp Society and was funded by Bernard Grandjany in honor of his father Marcel Grandjany and was enhanced by bequests from Mary Wheeler and Hermine Herbring.

French-born American harpist and composer Marcel Grandjany (1891–1975) helped create the American Harp Society, which he organized with a Founding Committee that met for the first time in 1962 at his New York apartment. To this day the American Harp Society has had a profound influence on the shaping of young harpists and the promotion of the harp as a serious musical instrument. This visionary artist began his harp studies at age eight with Henriette Renié and at age eleven was admitted to the Conservatoire de Paris, where he studied with Alphonse Hasselmans and won the coveted Premier Prix at age thirteen. He appeared as soloist with major orchestras under the direction of Gabriel Pierné, Alfred Cortot, Walter Damrosch, Serge Koussevitzky, George Szell, Fritz Reiner and Vladimir Golschmann and a soloist with such luminaries as Maurice Ravel. Maestro Grandjany organized the harp department of the Conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique à Montréal, and was head of the Harp Department at both the Juilliard School and the Manhattan School of Music. His students included premiere harpists Anne Adams, Nancy Allen, Kathleen Bride, Sarah Bullen, Catherine Gotthoffer, Ruth Inglefield, Karen Lindquist, Eileen Malone, Emily L. Oppenheimer, and Gretchen Van Hoesen.

The Grandjany Memorial Competition was established in 1979 by the American Harp Society Board and was funded by Bernard Grandjany in honor of his father Marcel Grandjany. It was enhanced by bequests from Mary Wheeler and Hermine Herbring to continue performances and appreciation of the works of Marcel Grandjany.

The Grandjany Memorial Competition will take place in conjunction with the 2022 Adams Awards Competition (location and date to be announced).

2022 Repertoire Committee

Sarah Bullen — Principal Harp, Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Kathleen Bride — Professor of Harp, Eastman School of Music
Frances Duffy — Principal Harp, Hudson Valley Philharmonic, Wheeling Symphony and Allentown Symphony, New York City, and Broadway freelance harpist

The American Harp Society Foundation Awards are held on behalf of the American Harp Society.

Other Foundation Awards are described on  the Foundation Funds page.

The American Harp Society Foundation is very proud to acknowledge our sponsors: Lyon & Healy Harps.

A PDF of the 2020 Grandjany Memorial Competition Application form can be found HERE for your reference. (It will be replaced with the 2022 application as soon as it is available.)

2022 Required Repertoire

Marcel Grandjany — Fantaisie sur un Thème de J. Haydn, Op. 31

Marcel Grandjany — Dans le Forêt du charme et de l’enchantement, Op. 11

Ottorino Respighi — Siciliana (Transcribed by Marcel Grandjany)


  • Members of the American Harp Society
  • The age limit is 35 as of the due date of the application, which will be available in the spring of 2022.

Applicants will be asked to:

Submit an application with resumé (full packet will be posted soon) and both video and audio recordings, along with a non-refundable application fee of $40 (by check/money order) by March 1, 2022. Letters of recommendation are not required (in an effort to reduce the burden on both teachers and students). Video recordings are to be sent via unlisted/private youtube, and audio recordings are to be extracted and sent electronically along with the full application packet. Recordings do not have to be completed in one session.

For further information:

American Harp Society Foundation Awards
c/o Carrie Kourkoumelis
28 Cargill Street
Melrose, MA  02176

American Harp Society Foundation