The American Harp Society Foundation Awards

The American Harp Society Foundation is pleased to announce the repertoire for the 22nd Anne Adams Awards Auditions. We thank the large and diverse AHSF Repertoire Committee of nationally renowned harp professors for collaborating to create this list.

The American Harp Society Foundation 2020 Adams and Grandjany Memorial Competitions will take place at Roosevelt University’s Chicago College of Performing Arts May 19–21, 2020. This collaboration is made possible with the help from former Adams winner, Marguerite Lynn Williams, currently harp professor at the Chicago College of Performing Arts and principal harpist of the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

The Adams Competition takes place May 19 and 20, 2020, at the Chicago College of Performing Arts. Three scholarship awards of $2,000, each for full-time study of the harp, will be given, funded from the Adams, Nebergall, and Maxwell/Calkins funds. Lyon & Healy Harps, Inc., will again generously provide matched concert grand harps for the competition and enhance the awards with a $500 gift certificate for each winner. In addition, this year’s winners’ names will be added to the permanent plaque in the Lyon & Healy showroom engraved with all Adams winners’ names.

Lyon & Healy, Inc. will sponsor the Winners’ Recital following the competitions on the morning of May 22, 2020 in their beautiful Lyon & Healy Hall in Chicago. This concert will be livestreamed and recorded.

History of the Anne Adams Awards

In 1990 as a tribute to his wife, Anne Adams, Dr. Burton Adams founded the Anne Adams Fund to be administered by the American Harp Society as a successor to the discontinued University of Oregon Close Awards, embodying a similar mission of helping the development of future professional harpists. In 1991, Lyon & Healy joined this project and became a proud, integral sponsor of these Awards by offering a gift certificate and plaque in honor of the winners to be displayed in their showroom. At this same time Sally Maxwell, long-time supporter and organizer of the Anne Adams Awards, worked with Dr. Adams to establish that the Doris Calkins Fund could be earmarked to support the Anne Adams Awards. When Sally Maxwell passed away, her family and friends changed the name of the Doris Calkins Fund to the Sally Maxwell/Doris Calkins Fund, and this led to increased funding. Jack Nebergall joined the mission and bequeathed funds in support of these awards via the Doris E. Nebergall Fund. In honor of Anne Adams, these awards have always included a orchestra, ballet, or opera excerpts in addition to the required solo repertoire. 

The American Harp Society Foundation Awards are held on behalf of the American Harp Society.

Other Foundation Awards are described on  the Foundation Funds page.

The American Harp Society Foundation is very proud to acknowledge our sponsors: Lyon & Healy Harps, Salvi Harps, Vanderbilt Music, and DePauw University.

2020 Required Repertoire

Marcel Tournier–Voliere magique
(found in Suite 4 of “Images”)

Caroline Lizotte–La Madone

Choose one of the following:

Marius Flothuis–Pour le tombeau d’Orphée, Op. 37
Marcel Grandjany–Rhapsodie, Op. 10
Carlos Salzedo–Ballade, Op. 28

Orchestra/Choral (BOTH are required):

Johannes Brahms–Vier Gesänge, Op. 17 Harp part (Four Songs for Women’s Voices, Two Horns and Harp)  Available on IMSLP, Sheet Music Plus or from CF Peters publishers, #EP6617-HP

Bela Bartok–Concerto for Orchestra (Hp. 1 part)


Applications will be accepted from advanced students who are:

  • Members of the American Harp Society
  • Enrolled full-time in colleges or universities through a Master’s Degree, or other post-high school institutions.

Applicants will be asked to:

Submit an application with a video recording and a non-refundable application fee in the spring of 2020. For further information:

American Harp Society Foundation Awards
c/o Carrie Kourkoumelis
28 Cargill Street
Melrose, MA  02176