Supporting and Preserving
the Art of the Harp

American Harp Society Foundation


Founded in 1993, the American Harp Society Foundation provides a legacy for the future of the American Harp Society. The AHS Foundation houses nineteen educational funds in which donations are held for specific educational projects, such as scholarships, awards and prizes, each in accordance with the intent of the original donor.

Legacy Opportunities

The AHS Foundation houses many specific-named endowment funds. There are numerous opportunities for donors to support the Foundation and its shared mission with the American Harp Society, including an online donation portal. Besides your individual donation, you can raise money various ways within your AHS chapter. Some chapters have donated to the various funds, in particular, the Anne Adams Awards. These awards sustain the biennial auditions, and we encourage, welcome and appreciate your help.

The longevity and excellence of the Society’s educational projects and scholarships are ensured by the work of the Foundation. Each of you can help the Foundation to grow. You can be a part of that legacy.


Your donation to the American Harp Society Foundation helps fund our educational projects that provide scholarships and awards to young harpists.


The 2022 Applications have been posted for the following competitions and scholarships:

  • Anne Adams Competitions
  • Grandjany Memorial Competition
  • Kathy Bundock Moore Memorial Scholarship
  • Kids for Camp

See the Competitions and Scholarships pages for detailed information. Download the applications from the posts on the AHSF News page

AHS Foundation Members

Sally Maxwell (1935–2013), Founder, President Emeritus
Wenonah Govea, Founder, Emeritus

AHS Foundation Board of Directors

Carrie Kourkoumelis, President
Kathleen Bride, Vice President
Holly Avesian, Secretary
Penny Howk Beavers, Treasurer and Donor Relations
Frances Duffy
Kristina Finch

Jaymee Haefner
Elizabeth Huntley
Paula Page

AHS Liaison by yearly appointment:

Elaine Litster


The 2020 recipients of the Anne Adams Award and the Grandjany Competition have been announced. See the News page for more information.

See the Foundation Brochure.

For Questions:

Contact AHS Foundation President
Carrie Kourkoumelis by  email
American Harp Society Foundation
28 Cargill Street
Melrose, MA  02176

Send Donations to:

AHS Foundation
c/o Penny Beavers
646 Worcester Drive
Cambria, CA 93428-3230

Photo courtesy of Patricia Gilhooly.

History of the AHS Foundation

AHS Foundation Founders

Burton Adams, Wenonah Govea, Sally Maxwell, Jack Nebergall, Ruth Papalia, Dorothy Remsen

In 1990, a small group of long-time members of the AHS foresaw the potential of housing large donations and scholarship funds for the American Harp Society in a separate organization. It was their objective to hold the funds where they could grow and be used only for the purpose intended by donors. For 25 years these funds have been used to award scholarship funds for college students, national competition winners, high school students attending summer camp, and harp students in extreme need.

In 1993, the AHS Foundation began three new awards: the Nebergall Award, the Karl Carlson Award, and the Doris Calkins Award. The Foundation now houses 18 separate funds.

Each fund within the Foundation is designated for a specific purpose. Only a portion of the interest/gains is given for each award and scholarship, thereby creating and building an endowment to ensure the funds and their growth in perpetuity.

American Harp Society Foundation